At what other job can you get love like that?

I had my first day back to work today at the assisted-living facility where I’ve been employed for about 4 1/2 years.  I’ve been off seven weeks because I broke my foot and had to have surgery.  This week, however, I got off crutches (now I’m in a walking cast for six weeks), so I can go back to the work I love.  Here is one reason why I love it…

Today I walked into one lady’s room and said, “Hi, E…  It’s Eva.”  When she heard my name she immediately started tearing up, so I went over to her and asked her if I could give her a hug.  She stood up from her chair to embrace me and as she kept crying in my arms, she said, “Oh!  I’ve been [choke] dreaming about this day [sob] for soooo long!”

It was the sweetest thing ever, and reminded me straight away (even though I hadn’t forgotten) why I love, love, love my job…

The residents are PRICELESS.

~ by Eva on November 8, 2008.

One Response to “At what other job can you get love like that?”

  1. I did like the book. I have read a few of his novels and I find his writing style very soothing. (I also read “100 years of solitude”….that book was very good, but the ending was kinda disturbing. But I found “Cholera” very good, but sad.

Leave a Reply

 
