I Want To Break Rules

I want to break rules.

Not laws.

Rules.

Those non-sensical social norms that we usually abide by just for the sake of, well… normalcy.  And I am… normal.  Well, depends on which part of the country/world you come from, but by the standard of the people in my world, I am so clean-cut it’s not even funny.  Even I think so.  I always have been too.  Mostly through sheer grit and determination, i.e. lack of courage, do I stay on the straight and narrow.

But…

I want to break rules.

My cousin, she lives in Kyrgyzstan and she smokes cigars sometimes.  She is cool.

I don’t smoke though.  Not anything.  Never have.  Honestly, never really want to either… except maybe cigars.  And for no other reason than it’d appall hoity-toity church ladies.

That is one reason I so thoroughly like being a Democrat.  I’ve never actually mentioned that fact out loud to any such ladies, but if I got the chance… I might.  And I’d secretly revel in their thinking of me as a heathen.  Of course, there are much more important reasons I’m a Democrat, but that’s for another time, another post.

My best friend breaks social norms.  It doesn’t phase her either.  She’s good at it.  And she doesn’t do it for any reason except that she wants to.  She doesn’t do it just to break rules… rules schmules.  I don’t know that I want to break rules in the same way she does all the time, but I do envy her in that she’s totally comfortable with it.  I’d like to be comfortable outside the rules, but I’m too self-conscious.  I mean, golly, I even asterisked a cuss word in a post the other day.  Not to say I wouldn’t have rather just spelled it out, but I know my mother reads this blog.  I don’t want to offend her.

That’s probably a big reason that my current rule breaking takes place almost solely in my head, and a lot does go on there.  Most of it only my best friend has heard though.  I confine my rule breaking to my thoughts, because I like people, and more than I want to break rules, I want to be able to relate to all kinds of people.  Even Republicans.  Even those hoity-toity church ladies.

But still…

I want to break rules.

And I do.

You just don’t know it.

~ by Eva on November 21, 2008.

8 Responses to “I Want To Break Rules”

  1. lol you are so cute. You have to learn the rules to break them properly. Make sure you know them well first. 😀

  2. Although I believe saftly, I assume “My best friend breaks social norms.” refers to yours truly. And if it does, i would be curious to hear some of the ways you see me “breaking social norms.” If it does not and you have found a new best friend – please let this be your deepest, darkest secret…NEVER tell me… ; )

    Thanks for having the courage enough to share this side of yourself with me.

    I thought of you at 5:45am when I woke up and saw our first laying snow of the season. [I] Wished I could have taken a walk in the woods with you surrounded by the fridged beauty.
    I get to see you in like a week! WHOOHOO!

    PS – ” i don’t know that I want to break rules in the same way she does all the time” … ALL THE TIME, huh?!! let’s hear them. : )

    PSS – I have a cigar in my study if you’d like to smoke it together next time you come…I’m not kidding [for real].

  3. I don’t know exactly what Amber means by “You have to learn the rules to break them properly.” But if she means to know them in a way to search out their potential or partial value (when there is some) I agree wholeheartedly.

    Well said Amber.

  4. Good advice, ladies. Thanks for stoppin’ by. 🙂

    Chella – I wanted to be in the fridged beauty with you too. Gorgeous. Also, I have no other best friend who breaks social norms. My few favorites of yours are how you love to ****** ***, spend so much of your time *****, and how you are so uniquely fashionable. You wear really cool things that I couldn’t pull off in a million years. I would like to be comfortable doing the first two and I envy that you already are. I admire you in this way (and lots of other ways too)! Looking forward to seeing you!

    P.S. We’ll discuss the cigar later… 😉

  5. (^*&^%^&*
    ()********* ******
    what?!?!?!?!?!
    ya don’t get it…send me an e-mail 🙂

  6. Sorry. Haha. I didn’t think it’d be that hard to figure out! I will send you an e-mail pronto.

  7. Cherry is good until you start coughing & chocolate sounds better than it is.

    Are you formulating, or do you already have a plan in place that will steer your course clear of becoming a hoity-toity church lady?

    • Keeping a foul mouth with people (actually just one person, my best friend) who can appreciate it without offense.

      …that’s one tactic. I have others too.

Leave a Reply

 
