The Year In Review (Duh)

Duh.  January 1, 2009.  “The Year In Review” is the only logical post, except that I dislike stewing or looking back on the past.  The only time I have done that was when some booger of an experience was still wrecking havoc in my brain.  Other than that… pish-posh on the past.  ‘Tis over and done with.  I do not give a who-ha about it except to understand its affect and to learn from it.  Both of those things are for the purpose of living better in the present.

But here is my attempt at documentation of significant happenings of my year (in no particular order):

1)  graduated from undergrad

2) Best Friend R moved away

3) started grad school at THE Ohio State University

4) started blogging

5) ran over 1,000 miles in the summer in preparation for my first road race

6) broke my foot, which is only significant in that it changed what I will be doing next year… moving to Virginia instead of South America

7) and, taking a hint from CMajor7 who occasionally leaves things unsaid so not to “mess” them up, this one remains to be seen.   But I will say, another year with no regrets.  New friends made, old ones maintained, and all in all, a happy life lived.  Not something I could have said about every year of my life.  So, I’m glad I can say it about this one.  The end!

TTFN 2008!

*L&C – that weekend, the scalping and “TTFN” one, was really a favorite of the year.  Love you both very, very much.  You lighten my life.

2009… I will deal with you one day at a time.

And the post wouldn’t be complete without a song that encapsulates my year quite well, though it’s a little more sober than is exactly fitting.  It is “Can’t Go Back Now” by The Weepies (words are below)

Yesterday, when you were young,
Everything you needed done was done for you.
Now you do it on your own
But you find you’re all alone,
What can you do?

You and me walk on
Cause you can’t go back now.

You know there will be days when you’re so tired that you can’t take another step,
The night will have no stars and you’ll think you’ve gone as far as you will ever get

But you and me walk on
Cause you can’t go back now
And yeah, yeah, go where you want to go
Be what you want to be,
If you ever turn around, you’ll see me.

I can’t really say why everybody wishes they were somewhere else
But in the end, the only steps that matter are the ones you take all by yourself

And you and me walk on
Yeah you and me walk on
Cause you can’t go back now
Walk on, walk on, walk on
You can’t go back now

~ by Eva on January 1, 2009.

7 Responses to “The Year In Review (Duh)”

  1. sounds like a good year!

    blogging and grad school should make a good combo. Lots of stories and experiences to share on the life of research.

  2. ggw_bach!!! so glad you came back! It was a good year. Thanks. 🙂

  3. And BTW, you are like my musical hero. Love your blog.

  4. But, Eva, what is a “year in review” entry without a detailed account of at least one of your top 3 embarrassing moments? Come now, entertain us with such. Please!

    Also, could you add a link to your thoughts on that past possibility of venturing to the southern tip of Africa?

  5. Southern tip of Africa? You mean South America? If the later is the case, here is the link… https://evalawrie.wordpress.com/2008/11/26/south-america-procrastination/

  6. How bizarre, a slip of the key fingers. Perhaps it is I who–subliminally–wants to venture to South Africa.

  7. the weepies rock. i love them so much. glad you do too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
