How I Feel About Swearing

I come from a world of clean-cut people.  They are educated and maintain good jobs.  They faithfully go to church and pray before every meal.  They say ‘please’ and ‘thank you,’ and never lose their tempers.  They keep their houses clean, shop at JCPenney’s, and do their laundry every week like clockwork.  They stop at stop signs, never cross the center line, and go the speed limit.

They do not swear.

They do not think highly of people who do.

Growing up I wasn’t allowed to say the word ‘sucks.’  As in, “Boy, it really *sucks* that the Buckeyes lost the game today.”   Even now if I said it my mother would look at me with an look that says I-wish-you-wouldn’t-use-that-word-but-you’re-grow-up-so-I’m-not-going-to-say-anything.  She would use that “look” to discourage further use of such a word.

You may have guessed by now…  I do not swear.  I use words like Blast, Stink, Bummer, Crap, Glory, etc.

Very, very TAME words, right?

But…

I don’t mind swearing.  In fact, not at all.  Not in the least.  I DO mind hurting people and being derogatory and all that.  So one has to be very careful with swearing… but after that… I don’t mind it.

~ by Eva on April 7, 2009.

One Response to “How I Feel About Swearing”

  1. my grandma used to say fudge and i had a christian friend once who said bastage- so how does this sound- i wish the fudgin’ bastages would leave me the fudge alone.

Leave a Reply

 
