How We Met: Step IV

March 4, 2009

OMG.

Did I just do that???

I just bought a two-way ticket to [an airport], where he’ll come get me and then we’ll either go back to… where he lives, or hang out [there] for about ten days till I go back.

I have the support of my parents to go, they both really like him.  My best friend, brother, and sister-in-law were also supportive and encouraged me in going.  See… I’ve learned throughout my life that I do not have good insight into things like this, so it was very important that my parents agreed it was a good idea and that makes me feel more at peace about going to visit him.

I’m really only nervous about the initial awkwardness.  Who knows how long it will last, but hopefully it won’t be very long at all before we get comfortable with one another and can spend our energy delving deeper into one anothers lives, rather than on the superficial, gotta-survive-this-awkwardness stuff.

Oh, and I learned today that he’s taller than I’d been thinking.  On Skype I can’t tell how tall he is, because he’s almost always sitting down.  There was one time that he was talking to me at school in a classroom when someone knocked on the door.  So he got up to answer it and I could see a full view of him in the doorway and he completely filled it up!  I could just barely make out the girl he was talking to, but it looked like she only barely came up to his elbow.  [The natives] are generally shorter than Americans though, so I don’t know how much that says.  Plus, he himself said that the girl was particularly short.  Anyway, he’s 6′ 4 1/2″ tall.

Without shoes!

That’s a whopping 7 and 1/2 inches taller than me.  Whoa.  I’ll barely (not even) come up to the hair of his chin-y, chin-chin.

~ by Eva on April 17, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
