Summer 2009: A Day in My Life

Woke up around 8am.  Quite unusual for this summer as Pickle Man and I usually enjoy the luxury of being able to sleep in.  Ate breakfast together on the screened-in porch at his mother’s house.

Then we spent two or three hours shooting his re-curve (sp?) bow and arrows with his mother (who is a remarkable, lively, wise, and beautiful woman) doing spectating.  Lots of fun.  Lots of photos.  Lots of missing the target for me, less for Pickle Man.

After completely losing two arrows to the grips of Mother Nature and a good amount of sweat, we came inside to cool off.

I showered and then we went to eat out with his dad.  Local restuarant.  I ordered the salad bar, which was delicious and hit the spot for me.  A friend of Pickle Man’s works there and so I got to meet and visit with Scott too.  It was great.  I love being in Pickle Man’s hometown, meeting his people, seeing where he played baseball as a kid, and other stuff like that.  Helps me put things together as far as being able to picture it all and meeting the people he’s told me stories about.

Then we went to his home place where his dad lives and visited there for a couple hours.  I got to see a couple more pictures from Pickle Man’s youth and his dad gave me a pair of earrings, just out of the generosity and kindness of his heart.

From his house, we went to see an older couple from the church where Pickle Man went before going to his country.

Supper was back at his mother’s house (which is the coolest house I’ve EVER stayed in – it was built in the mid-1800’s and is basically furnished like a museum.  His mother lives there as the caretaker).

Now Pickle Man is showering and we’re about to go get ice cream with his mom.

Today was a lot of visiting people.  We usually have more time to chill.  But it was another good day nonetheless.

Another good day in a string of good days that started… oh… around June 29th, 2009.  😉

Bliss.

~ by Eva on August 5, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
