Baby Step to Virginia

There is a reason Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy is the most widely used.  Because both issues need to be addressed to get a person on the road to recovery.

I have been trying to get my cognitions in order for the last month.  I can’t seem to though.  I just still feel messed up.  And I’m still crying.  Why?  When Pickle Man left, I figured I would start feeling better in a week or two.  But it’s been a stinking month and I still don’t feel well.  Lots of reasons… too much time alone.  No concrete direction in life.  Pickle Man being out of touch.

Anyway, I realized that a month is too long to feel this way, so I was trying to get an appointment with a counselor, but I couldn’t find any agency open on a Saturday.  (Note to self:  Someday when you’re a counselor, be open on Saturdays.)  I did find one lady I’d go to, she had “life transitions” listed as one of the issues she counsels people through.  But right now I’m stuck feeling like a lonely, lost soul.

So.  What to do…

Forget the cognitions aspect for awhile and get the behavioral junk in order.  I’m not going to feel better until I get my life in order, which for me right now means getting a full-time job.  So, that’s what I’m doing… heading to Virginia today.  Decided that about 1:00am this morning.

So I’ll be working on the behavioral stuff and while I’m there I’ll get the next best thing to a professional counselor…

Grandma.

~ by Eva on September 13, 2009.

One Response to “Baby Step to Virginia”

  1. i love you my dear!
    is this a “permanent move” to VA? or just a visit?
    we need to skype.

    keep baby stepping.

Leave a Reply

 
