After I’m Dead

I recognize that at times I’m borderline morbid, but generally, I find a sort of ecclesiastical freedom in remembering that life is a temporary thing.  I just like knowing that all the pressure I let myself feel in life is really pretty silly.  Anyway, I bought this book called “After I’m Gone:  Thoughts, Wishes, Memories, & Secrets to Share with Those I Love.”  It’s kind of a journal, but is full of questions about your childhood, family, friends, hobbies, travel, funeral wishes, etc… everything from “The biggest compliment I ever got was… The person who gave it to me was…” to “My pallbearers are to be…”  I’ve only just started filling a few things out, but I’m finding it a great tool for reflection.  I’m going to write down a few of my answers for posterity…

The tradition I loved most as a child was… waking up early on Christmas morning.

I always fantasized about… owning a horse.

My oldest friend is… Best Friend R.

Two places I wish I had traveled to are… Tibet, South Korea.

The best family vacation I ever went on was to… Tennessee (or Maine).

When people first meet me, they usually think I am… quiet.

I have always tried to be good at… everything.

The thought that most often runs through my mind is… That’s/It’s/I’m okay.

My favorite prayer is… “Lord, help me.”

Something I always wanted to do but never got the chance to was… skydive.

If reincarnation exists, I want to return as a… Theravada Buddist monk or a Spanish nun.

Celebrate my life by…. Holding hands with your love, easing the lives of and bringing joy to old people, and being open to Jesus.

I hope that in the future my sibling will… find every happiness possible on this earth.

The music I want played at my funeral is… “Untitled Hymn” (Come to Jesus) by Chris Rice.

The psalms, hymns, and prayers I want recited [at my funeral] are…  “How Can I Keep From Singing” (hymn), “In the Garden” (hymn) and Psalm 103 (Read by Best Friend T).

I want readings and speeches to include… parts of:  Isaiah 43, I Cor. 13, Ecclesiastes; all of Gen. 5:24 (<my life verse).

~~~~~~~

“Enoch walked with God; then he was no more, because God took him away.” ~Genesis 5:24

~~~~~~~

“Untitled Hymn” (Come to Jesus) by Chris Rice

The link… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0_hV8L65Rqo


~ by Eva on September 20, 2009.

3 Responses to “After I’m Dead”

  1. Wow. Those are really thought provoking…not even sure if I’d have the answers without reflecting for awhile…

  2. beautiful post –
    you have me crying.
    headed to the piano to play this song.
    i don’t think i’ve heard it since the first time i heard it – put to dance by the school of dance at ywam (when i was in SBS)…lovely song. we’ll have to sing it next time we’re together.

    much love.
    me

  3. Such a pretty service….touching post.

Leave a Reply

 
