Soaking Wet

Tonight was my last night of work – after five and a half years – at the assisted-living facility.  I said a lot of goodbyes, at least some of which will be the last time I see those people.  A couple residents cried when they said goodbye, there were lots of hugs, lots of well-wishes.

I was thinking as the end of the night approached, if there was anything I’d always wanted to do, but never did…

Every night at work we always lock up the whole building and part of the entails locking up the pool room.  And nearly every night I’ve done that, hundreds, maybe thousands of nights, I’ve walked past the pool and wished I could jump in with all my clothes on.

So, tonight…

On my last night of work after five and a half years.

I did.

Shoes, socks, necklace, shirt, pants, name tag… I left everything on and jumped in.  Then walked out of my last night of work…

Soaking.  Wet.

~ by Eva on October 11, 2009.

3 Responses to “Soaking Wet”

  1. I am proud of you!
    Carpe Diem (Is that spelled right?! doesn’t matter) Good work!
    (kinda wished you would have skinny dipped following the fully clothed plunge, it would have been a fun memory…besides – they couldn’t have fired you! 😉

  2. Carpe Diem!

  3. What a great thing to do. And vivid image said with great economy of words. Good luck with whatever is next.

Leave a Reply

 
