Big Suits

I was in a meeting today with men in suits.  My direct supervisor was also there, she is a woman.

It was the five most intimidating people I have ever been put with in a room.  Any one of those people could fire me (or get me fired) at the drop of a hat.   They were the big wigs of my company.  Metaphorically speaking, they were large people, and I mean that in regard to their respective professional success.   And they all knew it.

One of them was the man (The Suit) who does test-audits for our company.  The meeting was all about him.  He sat in the middle.  All his questions got answered.  His directions got followed.

The mood was heavy.  Stiff.  Professional, in the strictest sense.

I had to run out to take care of a client, so I missed the first part of the meeting.  But when I arrived, I felt like a kid tardy to school.  As quietly as I could, I slunk with my big bag to my seat.  They were doing chart audits and the last chart to get audited was one of MINE!  Oh, horror of all horrors.  All the work I had written, everything I had done, was on the projector for all the big suits to dissect.

I would be lying if I said I didn’t pray right then.

Right before The Suit had my chart pulled up, he was talking and said something like, “Am I being too harsh?”  I’m not sure why he asked that, because he didn’t strike me as a kind of professional who would care.  Additionally, he had directed the question at me, totally catching me off guard.  I paused for a second, shocked and tried to pull the frog out of my throat by the leg.  Then I responded sweetly, “Oh, you’re wonderful.”

They all laughed.

As it turned out, my chart wasn’t too bad and I adequately defended what I’d done on the case.

When the meeting was over The Suit asked me, “Are you breathing yet?”

I smiled and said, “I’m still working on it.”

~ by Eva on April 8, 2010.

2 Responses to “Big Suits”

  1. Oh, how interesting!

  2. It would have been just like a sitcom if you had high fived The Suit right after your last line.

Leave a Reply

 
