Fool

Every since I was a young, malleable girl of 18 years old.  I have thought that when something undesirable happened in my life it was because God was trying to “humble” me.  It had happened that while in the much-discussed (at least here, I feel) YWAM, a speaker who I had really respected and enjoyed said the following (I’m paraphrasing)…

If God is going to take you high, first, you’ll have to go low.

He was saying this in the context of life and specifically, “success/leadership/etc.”  Basically, that if God was going to do great things with you in your life, first you’d have to be really depressed so you could “handle” the “success” without becoming arrogant.  Or something like that.

Is it no wonder that the two years after hearing that I was really depressed??  In a way, it was self-fueling because it felt like if I made myself really depressed, then God would spare me addition hardships/pain/loss.  If I could do all the dirty work myself, then God would leave me alone.

Fortunately, I did finally realize a few years later how preposterous that is… that life is just hard sometimes.  And it’s hard for all of us.  All.  Of.  Us.

That’s just life.

It’s not necessarily “okay.”  It is the way it is.

Funny though, that sometimes I still revert back to my old way of thinking and assume that when something goes wrong, God is trying to teach me a lesson.  And when something is going right… well, it’s just a matter of time before I’m taught another “lesson.”  And even if I feel I’m being taught a lesson, it’s only a matter of time before it gets worse.  God’s really trying to teach me this time.
That is foolish.
Good things happen in life.  Bad things happen in life.  BOTH are unavoidable.   Learn from each.  Neither happen because of what we “deserve” or not.   God is not sitting in the sky with a giant fly swatter, going after anyone who gets to proud.
Life happens.  Take heart.
~ by Eva on July 21, 2010.

5 Responses to “Fool”

  1. God let’s things happen so that we learn to cling to Him… Jesus never said there won’t be troubles but He sure said this… John 16:33 I have told you these things, so that in Me you may have [perfect] peace and confidence. In the world you have tribulation and trials and distress and frustration; but be of good cheer [take courage; be confident, certain, undaunted]! For I have overcome the world. [I have deprived it of power to harm you and have conquered it for you.]

    Are you ready to trust in Him even when the ground below your feet is shaken?

    • You completely missed the point of this post.

      • Heard u loud and clear… “Good things happen in life. Bad things happen in life. BOTH are unavoidable. Learn from each. Neither happen because of what we “deserve” or not.

        When bad things happen it doesn’t mean God is punishing us – the main peg of your post

        Well i derived another underlying theme in it.. that bad things happen to even the best of us.. but to take heart even then and to trust God even then… no offense meant to u… its a good post

        • No problem. What I did not like about your first comment was the idea that bad things happen to us because we’re aren’t “clinging to God” enough, which sounds like bad things happening are OUR fault. Not true.

  2. Oops sorry dint convey what i meant in a right way… “God let’s things happen so that we learn to cling to Him” – i didn’t mean we aren’t clinging, i meant we learn to trust in Him more as He works out all bad things for our good… and thus, our faith grows stronger… also Romans 5:1Therefore, since we have been justified through faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ, 2 through whom we have gained access by faith into this grace in which we now stand. And we rejoice in the hope of the glory of God. 3 Not only so, but we also rejoice in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope. 5 And hope does not disappoint us, because God has poured out his love into our hearts by the Holy Spirit, whom he has given us.
    Once again sorry for not putting it correctly

Leave a Reply

 
