Tattoo Ideas

Ok… I need feedback.  Here are some of the ideas I’ve thought of…

“Gen. 5:24” – in script; my favorite Bible verse.

“Love never fails.” – current favorite idea; would be in script; 1 Cor. 13:8; an idea I live by.

“Be still” – in script; Ps. 46:10

I could go to another shop and see if they’d do the tattoo I’d originally wanted… see here.

I could get a dandelion tattoo… like this.

Other good ideas?????

Then this idea… https://evalawrie.wordpress.com/2011/01/17/tat/

~ by Eva on October 29, 2010.

16 Responses to “Tattoo Ideas”

  1. I love those dried dandelions – they might be my favorite flower ; )
    I can think of meaning for them personally (a big deal to me if I was getting a tattoo).
    I think it would be nice aesthetically.

    I kind of like the love never fails thing.

    What changed with the bird thing – that you might get it now [laughing!]

    Other ideas…I think I might save them for myself in case I could ever get past the needle ; ) I like the look of small, significant, black, aesthetic tattoos… 😉

  2. So I was going to say: And by the way, don’t rush into anything, you have time, just wait it out until you have something you really like. But then I remembered you are a “P” ; ) So forget that…unless you want to use your recessive “J”…then I would say “Don’t rush into anything…”

    Also another tid-bit…that you can think about (or ignore)… get other people’s opinion. But ultimately if you need reassurance on something, maybe it’s not the right thing for you.

    One of my favorite things about tattoos – or at least the potential for tattoos – is the narrative nature of them. They give the opportunity for sharing a bit of your story (especially if they do have some meaning) – what do you want to share with others…?

    OK…I think that’s enough feedback…just some random thoughts from me.

    • Good feedback. I haven’t gotten resounding support from anyone important to me, yet I’m still okay with getting something I like. So to respond to your comments – I will get something *I* want, even without much reassurance. At the same time, you can’t really go wrong getting honest feedback – which you can then take or leave.

      I’m leaning toward the love never fails one.

  3. yeah, i think it’s important to look at what each tattoo would mean for you. what does that image of birds hold for you? i’m sensing themes of flight, freedom, movement, exploration with the birds and the dandelion. not so much with the verses. do you want the tattoo to be a daily reminder of something?

    i think the birds are wonderful.

    • There was subtle meaning with the birds, basically what you said in addition to it being on the bone that I broke.

      I’m cool with a tattoo meaning something to me, but I don’t want it to be overt so that I get labeled by whoever sees it. So due to that, I’m not terribly keen on getting a Bible verse, unless I can be undercover about it, like with the “love never fails” bit.

  4. It just so happens that I just had a conversation about this with a fellow supervisor of professional staff. Her take on it was that young people needed to think ahead to when they will be applying for professional jobs, and to what impression they want to give when they are 40 or 50, before getting a tattoo. She has two of them but specifically put them in locations that she can hide. This is one decision that it is OK to procrastinate on. It is a lifetime thing. And don’t forget, our skin sags as we get older. What will elongated birds look like?

    • Well, do recall that it will be on the side of my foot, which is easy to hide when interviewing. I did think of that when deciding where it could go. The bird idea is on the chopping block anyway, so don’t worry too much about that.

  5. I wasn’t worried. I liked the birds.

  6. i have been planning on getting a dandelion tattoo that turns into bird flying away for the longest time now. i think that if you want it then you should go for it, but at the same time i can understand your hesitation because the reason i have taken so long to get it is because im afraid it will not turn out the way i want it, i want it to look kind of realistic without going wayyyy over board, but yes if i do get a dandelion i am definitely getting the birds with it without a dought. i hope you get what your looking for!:)

  7. oh and im getting the langston hughes quote, “Hold fast to dreams, For if dreams die life is a broken-winged bird That cannot fly.” incorporated into the tattoo some how.

Leave a Reply

 
