Do Not Resuscitate

Soooooooo….. here’s the scoop on the tattoo…

First there was the incident with me changing my mind as I was inches away from the needle.

Then today, I went to a different shop to see if they could do the birds that I originally wanted.  And – woohoo! – they said they could do it exactly!  I was stoked!  Sweet!

I  made an appointment to return at 6:00pm today and excitedly left the shop to wait out the next few hours before I could come back.

So I came home and made some lunch and then worked on some paperwork.  And while I worked on my paperwork…

I thought.

I thought about all the different outfits I like to wear.  I thought about swimming suits.  And about how a tattoo would be the same no matter what I was wearing.  I thought about how I couldn’t sign a year-long contract when I moved into this apartment (over a year ago), because it was more commitment than I could handle.  I thought about how much I love change.

I thought about it and as I thought about it, I got naarvous.

It’s not the pain of getting a tattoo – I can deal with that.  It’s not the needle – I have zero problems with needles going into my flesh.  Doesn’t bother me in the least.

I was just got anxious about being stuck (a horrendous word for someone like me).  Namely, with a tattoo.

And then I canceled my appointment.

So, that’s that…

I’m glad I tried to get one.  It was a good attempt.  Both times.

I’m a little bothered by feeling like I chickened out, but I think it’s just not the right time.  I’m so young, there’s so much change still ahead of me.

Anyway, the tattoo thing is going to lie latent for awhile.  In the meantime, it’s going on my list of things to do before I die. Hopefully I get the courage to do it before I get to this point…

~ by Eva on October 30, 2010.

5 Responses to “Do Not Resuscitate”

  1. At the end of the day it’s your decision, and nobody elses – its YOUR BODY. The interesting thing for me – being Mr Boring Dad now – is how much courage you have to be your own person, and not go quietly into the night.

    I wonder if it’s about getting older, and no wanting to stand out… there’s probably a whole blog post’s worth of ruminating here somewhere 🙂

  2. Oh wow cool! didn’t expect that at all! Love it when a story has a twist! 🙂

  3. LOVE that old woman and her tattoo – makes me smile!

  4. I love that old lady.

    Tattoos change with your body and you can always get more as your tastes change. each one can symbolize a stage in your life…

Leave a Reply

 
