Good news!

So, I am (as you may have noticed from earlier/recent posts) reading a book of which a main topic is differentiation.

I just read the following bit and subsequently feel like celebrating.  Consider that feeling an ode to my parents!

“… two important principles every married person should know:  First, we emerge from our family of origin at about the highest level of differentiation our parents achieved.”

That is good news, because my parents are well differentiated!  SWEET!  I just may be well-differentiated by default!

I’ve kept thinking as I’m reading this book… I suck at this, I suck at that, I’m poorly differentiated, blah, blah, blah.

BUT… if that quote is right, then I’m on a good track!  Thanks, Dad and Mom!!!!

And just as good… a quote following on the heels of the one I just posted…

“Second, we always pick a marital partner who’s at the same level of differentiation as we are.”


~ by Eva on November 21, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
