In Review: 2010

This has been a year of lots of change for me.  I don’t think there has been a single significant thing about who I am that has been left unchallenged.  The following is a list of some of the most important changes and my thoughts on such (in no particular order):

~  After four months on a new job, I received a promotion to a supervisory role.  For a person who generally is quite content to fly below the radar, this has been a major adjustment.  For the first six months of the new job, I’m pretty sure I did not adjust well.  But I did the best I could with what I knew/had.  By September, I finally gave myself a break and went to Ohio for an entire week.  After that, inch by inch, I started feeling better about things job-related and doing a better job too.  November and December have easily been the best months in regard to my job satisfaction (with this particular job).

I continued adjusting to living on my own.  There have been no major mishaps with bill-paying or budgeting (though there were several very “tight” months).  I’ve kept Duncan running (for the most part – knock on wood).  I’ve finally settled into my apartment.  I’ve successfully avoided depression and have generally stayed somewhere in the realm of “average” with normal fluctuations.

I became an aunt.  Boy, do I love that little guy.  Who would have thought such a little package could bring such joy.  Another little piece of this that has been wonderful, is seeing my parents become grandparents.

I started dating.  Yes, there was Pickle Man prior to 2010, but that was honestly more like a courtship than dating.  And it certainly was abnormal in a way, simply because he lived on the other side of the world.  But anyway, it was in April that I bravely and naively stepped into the dating realm.  Thus far it’s been a very challenging, humbling, sometimes memorable, and growing experience.

As my counselor said, this has been a year of an emotional grow-spurt for me.  I can’t really think of a better way to say it than that.  And I don’t think it’s actually over yet either.  I still feel the growing pains, the un-resolution, the grief, the confusion, along with the inner strength that gets developed by grappling with each of those things.

To each of you who make me, me, thank you… Mom, Dad, Brother, Sister, Best Friend R, Best Friend T.  Love you dearly.

~ by Eva on January 9, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
