Savoring a Compliment

Today I told my counselor (50-ish year old man with a Ph.D) that I don’t feel bad about myself when dating relationships don’t “work out,” because I think it works more like a puzzle.  I used to think that relationships worked or not depending on how much effort you were willing to put into it.  But now I don’t think that at all.  Some people fit, some people don’t.  It’s not a crisis, it’s just the way it is.

After I explained how I felt about all that, he said, “That’s a very mature way of looking at it.  Way better than the way most people do.”

I said, “Yeah, thanks.  I feel pretty good about it.”  Then I kept jabbering (cause that’s what I do when I’m in his office – filter goes out the window).

[Eva’s jabbering]

But he stops me again, “No… I really mean that as a big compliment.”

~ by Eva on May 31, 2011.

One Response to “Savoring a Compliment”

  1. breathe in the moment….

    T.

Leave a Reply

 
