If You Schmooze, You Don’t Lose

We had our annual Christmas party today from 11:30am to 2:00pm.

My Regional Director was there.

Our Director of Clinical Services was there.

Our President and Chief Executive Officer was there.

What did I do?

I schmoozed the higher-ups.  I don’t know what came over me, but I TALKED with them.  Like, engagingly.

It started that I was standing there talking with our Director of Clinical Services about the Medicaid changes that happened this year and what we’ve done to adapt, the challenges, how hard my staff work, etc.

Then my Site Director, Regional Director, and CEO walked over (everyone else had left) nearby.  I continued in the conversation I was having, but had a ear toward them.  They were talking about me.  In a good way.

When the time was right, both the Director of Clinical Services and I turned toward the other three.  Then the CEO starts telling me how our TDT program is the only one in the state that has survived VICAP (if you want details about what that is, feel free to ask, but suffice it to say that it was the major Medicaid change of 2011) and how he stills tells people about I was the reason they changed the Supervisory Productivity Report for the whole company.  Then he and my Regional Director asked to look at what I’d prepared for my staff that day and both made complimentary statements about it.

Seriously, I don’t know why I wasn’t nervous.  I think it’s because we were talking about that which is now my expertise (TDT!) and *that* wakes me up.  I know what I talking about when that is the subject.  It gets me fired up.  I can hold my own with just about anyone in that arena.

So I wasn’t nervous.  I spoke clearly, if a bited excitedly.  I made and maintained direct (but not creepy) eye contact.  And when we all left, I gave those higher-ups the firmest hand shake they’ve ever gotten from a 5’9″ girl in pink. (I was wearing a pink sweater; not necessarily what I would have wore had I known they were coming, but hey, it’s hard to be perfect all the time.)

~ by Eva on December 21, 2011.

One Response to “If You Schmooze, You Don’t Lose”

  1. fabulous.

Leave a Reply

 
