How I Feel About Days and People Past

Funny how some people I had thought were going to be so significant in my life, turned out not to be.  And funny how their absence in my life is not significant either.

In the best way possible, I really don’t care anymore.  It’s in a way that enables me to be very present in my life now and appreciate those people who I love and have ongoing relationships with.  I care about *them*.

I am a woman moved on.  I am a woman free of burdens from my past.  I am a woman filled with hope and optimism, with what feels unending gratitude for who I have become, where I am at in my life, and the lessons I’ve learned along the way.

In 2004, I recall feeling hopeless.  But that’s okay; I’m comfortable with having had that feeling.

In 2009, I recall feeling alone.  But that is also okay; I’m comfortable with having had that feeling.  We got it sorted out for the better and perfectly incorporated into my narrative.

That’s how I feel about it.  People have come and gone (important ones have stayed).  Feelings have come and gone.  Places have come and gone.  Jobs have come and gone.  Schools have come and gone.  Pets have come and gone.

Everything is still coming and going.  I’m like liquid mercury flowing down a sloping thing… er, no.  I’m like a living, breathing, maleable, adaptable, resilient, loving thing.  I’ve survived my traumas so well they don’t even feel like they were traumas anymore.  They were my stepping stones.  They were how I got stronger.  They are part of how I got to being This Me, the Me of today.  And part of the Me of tomorrow.

Oh, ye people who have gone!  Oh, days of old!  Oh, ye things I’ve grieved!   You are fine to have come.  And you are fine to have gone.  Thank you.  And good night.

(picture from The Daybook Blog)

~ by Eva on December 29, 2011.

2 Responses to “How I Feel About Days and People Past”

  1. Those people that we thought were going to be significant in our lives, but aren’t any more…. They are significant in our lives because of what they did for us at the time. But then, I think that is what you meant.

Leave a Reply

 
