Hello, Nervous

Hello, Nervous, I’m NOT glad to have you back.

It’s just a little phone call to get “feedback.”

But I have been sitting her for fifteen minutes with my phone in hand, the number dialed, yet unable to hit

“Call.”

I tried deep breathing exercises.

I tried finding something to do that I would like even less, in hopes it would motivate me to “Call.”

I tried rehearsing what I need to say.

I wondered if maybe I could just e-mail the person instead.  (I can’t.  I already told the person I would “Call.”)

I even tried doing something else and surprising myself with hitting “Call.”  Like, doot-da-doot, I’m doing something else; then BAM!  “Calling….”  (Didn’t work; I couldn’t do it.)

Apparently, I might just have to give it up until later.  If I called now, I’m certain my voice would shake and I would mess up my enunciation.

~ by Eva on February 13, 2012.

2 Responses to “Hello, Nervous”

  1. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. Keep trying to make that call, and I am sure you will. Phone anxiety can really prevent you for calling someone, just try to relax and tell yourself that you can do it. Keep practicing what you will say, and even write out what to say. You can do it!

  2. […] So, I talked to the guy (the program director of the Ph.D. thing I applied to) yesterday who I was so nervous to call. […]

Leave a Reply

 
