PhD Update

So, I talked to the guy (the program director of the Ph.D. thing I applied to) yesterday who I was so nervous to call.

He told me I had great experience and great application materials.  The only reason they couldn’t accept me into the program was because my Master’s in Social Work is not close enough to a Master’s in Counseling, which is what they need participants to have in order to become accredited.

The phone call actually made me feel better.  I thought for sure he was going to tell me I’m just not up to snuff.  But turns out, he actually sounded regretful that he couldn’t accept me into the program, like he thought I would have been an asset if not for the Master’s thing.

Now my remaining obstacle is that I don’t want a Ph.D. in Social Work very much and all the other Counseling Ph.D.s I’ve looked at also require a Master’s in Counseling.

Option 1) Get a Master’s in Counseling (maybe some of my credits/classes will transfer?)

Option 2) Get a Ph.D. in Social Work starting in 2014 or 2015.  Doctoral programs in Social Work are extremely few and far between and the only reputable one I can find to do long-distance (with some trips to campus) is with the University of Utah and doesn’t start for another 2-3 years.

I’m sure there are other options I’m missing….

~ by Eva on February 15, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
