Finally 30

In less than three months I will be 30 years old.  Every time I think about it I remember a quote a resident told me when I was working in the assisted living facility… “What no one tells you about getting old is that it’s such a nice change from being young.”

I generally take myself way less seriously than I used to way back when I was in my 20s.  I also don’t weigh myself obsessively.  In fact, I don’t weigh myself at all.  Nothing I need to know about my health or how I feel about my body requires that I know how much I weigh.

I picked up a new sport and got good at it.  I figured out what my management and supervision style is, and stopped abusing myself for not doing it like someone else.  In fact, quite the opposite, I’ve watched my staff blossom and really appreciated that I got to witness it.

I grew to be able to feel deeply without needing to shut it off.  I cry a lot now, which is great.  I smile and laugh a lot too.  I also just sit quietly a lot.

I like to stick my hands in my pockets when I’m walking around.  It feels comfortable doing that.

I rush a lot less than I used to.  Better time management, maybe.

I’m exactly as assertive as I think is awesome.  I can say things well and gently, even when they are super important to me.

I love every day.  I love that I never have to handle more than one day at a time.

Would I go back to being 18?  20?  25?  Nope.  I’m good.

~ by Eva on January 26, 2015.

One Response to “Finally 30”

  1. I love her/his quote!

    I love you – looking forward to celebrating your 30s!

Leave a Reply

 
